Login Register

How to Share and Control Access to Your Observations

Updated 18 October 2024 2 min read
With SpeciesHub, you can easily control which observations are visible to external people. Here's a short guide on how to manage your observation sharing.

How to Share One or More Observations
  1. Select Observations: Choose one or several observations you want to share (you can use the search feature to filter observations and find them faster). This will activate the top bar (on desktop) or the bottom bar (on mobile).
  2. Select All (Optional): You can click the 'Select All' icon to select all filtered data.
  3. Share: Click the "Share" icon, then enter the recipient's email address or select a group name to share the data with. After that, click the "Share" button.

Share with a Person or a Group?
There are two main approaches to making your data visible to others:
  • Sharing with a Person: If you want to share data with an individual, simply enter their full email address in the sharing dialog (required due to privacy regulations).
  • Sharing with a Group: If you're sharing the same data with multiple people, or if the recipients frequently change, it's better to share the data with a group. Create a group, add the relevant people, and share the data with the group. This way, you can easily manage who sees the data by adding or removing people from the group, without having to reshare the data individually.

Where Can I See If Data Is Shared?
You can see shared data in several places:
  1. Site List: Each site that contains at least one shared observation will display an sharing icon next to it.
  2. Observation Details: By clicking on a site, you can view all observations. At the bottom of each observation, you'll see a list of people or groups with access. You can stop sharing by clicking the "X" next to a person or group.
  3. Using Search: Start typing "Shared with" to display sites shared with a specific person, group, or to view all shared sites.

How to Stop Sharing an Observation with a Specific User or Group
  1. Search for observations you are currently sharing by typing "Shared with".
  2. Select all filtered observations shared with that user or group.
  3. Open the overflow menu on the action bar and select "Remove shares".
  4. In the dialog, select the user or group to stop sharing with, then click "Remove".

How to Stop Sharing All Observations
  1. Search for observations you are sharing by typing "Shared with anyone".
  2. Select all filtered observations.
  3. Open the overflow menu on the action bar and select "Remove shares."
  4. In the dialog, select "Remove all shares" and click "Remove."
Still stuck? Write to support@specieshub.io and we answer within one working day. Write to support